Knight CUNYJ 2017 Curriculum

Knight CUNYJ Summer 2017 Schedule

Unless otherwise noted, all sessions meet in Room 438

CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, 219 W. 40th St., New York, NY 10018

(Schedule Subject to Change)

WEEK 1

Saturday, June 3

9 a.m.-5 p.m. Check Into The Towers @ CCNY

Sunday, June 4

11 a.m.-5 p.m. – All-day session

11 a.m. – Knight CUNYJ Orientation

— Tour of J-School

— Protocols discussed

— Assignment of lockers

12:30 p.m. – Class heads to 12th Avenue and 42nd Street

1:30 p.m. – “Best of New York” Circle Line Cruise

4 p.m. – Walk back to J-School

4:15 p.m. – Day’s recap and debrief; a look at tomorrow and Tuesday.

5 p.m. – Class Dismissed

Monday, June 5

All Day – Unless Told Otherwise, Fellows Report to Internships for Orientation

Tuesday, June 6

Welcome to Craft of Journalism Boot Camp

9:15 a.m.-5:15 p.m. — All-day session

Instructors: Lisa Armstrong and Joanna Hernandez

9:15 a.m. – News Quiz and News Discussion

10 a.m. – Discussion on diversity; exploring stereotypes; look at perceptions

11 a.m. – Talk with Knight CUNYJ alumni

11:30 a.m. – What is a story? Use discussion on diversity to come up with story ideas

12:30 p.m. –Take ID photos; then head to cafe area for pizza lunch break on us

1 p.m. – Discussion: What is a lede? Then drill:  Man on the Street, interview at least five people to get quotes on an assigned topic

3 p.m. – Dean Sarah Bartlett welcomes you back to the J-School

3:10 p.m. – Write up lede; class discussion, drawing out best practices; discuss successes, difficulties and solutions

4:45 p.m. – Day’s recap; debrief; look at tomorrow’s schedule

5:15 p.m. – Class Dismissed

Wednesday, June 7

9:15 a.m.-6 p.m. — Reporting and Research

Instructors: Barbara Gray, Lisa Armstrong and Joanna Hernandez

9:15 a.m. – News Quiz and News Discussion

10 a.m. – Research Basics: Digging into the facts

Noon – Working Lunch (Pizza on Us): Reporting Basics — Focus on elements of reporting and story structure

1 p.m. – Debrief; look ahead at this afternoon and tomorrow

1:30 p.m. – Out on daybook reporting assignments

6 p.m. – Class Dismissed from Field

Thursday, June 8

9:15 a.m.-5:30 p.m. — A-to-Z Smartphone Reporting

Instructors: Mo Krochmal

9:15 a.m. – News Quiz and News Discussion

9:45 a.m. – Welcome by Dean Sarah Bartlett

10 a.m. – Introduction: The emerging role of mobile in journalism; jobs; skills; storytelling

11 a.m. – Equipment: Tech overview; accessories/hardware software apps; management

Noon – Production: Photography: Shooting and editing; Audio: Capturing and editing; Video: Shooting and Editing; Writing: Caption writing and social media

1:10 p.m. – Pizza Lunch Break on Us

2 p.m. – Street Reporting: Students pair off into teams to create a story pitch that will include interviews, narration and sequences; students then head out to report

3:30 p.m. – Production: Students return to polish edit and publish their work

4 p.m. – Screening: Students introduce their work; share challenges and victories; and critique each other’s works

5:15 p.m. – Day’s recap and debrief; and a look at tomorrow

5:30 p.m. – Class Dismissed

Friday, June 9

9:15 a.m.-5:30 p.m. — Data Visualization

Instructors: Sandeep Junnarkar and Miguel Paz

9:15 a.m. – News Quiz and News Discussion

10 a.m. – Overview of Data Journalism Concepts, Data Stories, Math Numeracy, Visualizing Data, Basic Chart Building

1 p.m. Lunch Break on Your Own

2 p.m. – Deep Dive into Data: Finding Raw Data Set, Cleaning Data, Analyzing Data

5 p.m. ­– Day’s recap; debriefing; and look at Monday’s logistics

5:30 p.m. – Class Dismissed

WEEK 2

Monday, June 12

7:15 a.m.-3:45 p.m. — All-day session

Instructors: Lisa Armstrong and Joanna Hernandez

7:15 a.m. – Meet at Democracy Now!

10:30 a.m. – Head back to the J-School

11 a.m. ­– News Quiz and News Discussion

Noon – Lunch Break on Your Own

1 p.m. – Deconstructing daybooks; Pitching

3:15 p.m. – Debrief; look ahead at first day of internships and next week’s session

3:45 p.m. – Class Dismissed

Tuesday, June 13

First Day at Internships

Wednesday, June 14

Full Day at Internships

Thursday, June 15

Full Day at Internships

Friday, June 16

Full Day at Internships

Saturday, June 17 ­

Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

Sunday, June 18

Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

WEEK 3

Monday, June 19

9:15 a.m.-5:45 — All-day photography workshop

Instructor: Angel Franco

9:15 a.m. – News Quiz and News Discussion

10 a.m. – Introduction to Photography; Ethics and No Gray Areas; Discussion

1 p.m. – Lunch Break on Your Own

2 p.m. –Hands-On Photography: Shooting on the Street

5:15 p.m. – Day’s recap and debrief; and a look at next week

5:45 p.m. – Class Dismissed

Tuesday, June 20

Full Day at Internships

Wednesday, June 21

Full Day at Internships

Thursday, June 22

Full Day at Internships

Friday, June 23

Full Day at Internships

Saturday, June 24 ­

Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

Sunday, June 25

Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

WEEK 4

Monday, June 26

9:15 a.m.-2:45 p.m. – All-day session

Instructors: Melissa Noel, Mikhael Simmonds, Ellen Lai, Lisa Armstrong and Mo Krochmal

9:15 a.m. – News Quiz and News Discussion

10 a.m. – Social Media Reporting On-the-Go

11 a.m. – Handling your Social Media Presence

11:45 a.m.: Lunch on Your Own

12:30 p.m. – Checking in with Lisa Armstrong and Mo Krochmal

2:30 p.m. – Day’s recap and debrief; and a look at next week

2:45 p.m. – Class Dismissed

Tuesday, June 27

Full Day at Internships

Wednesday, June 28

Full Day at Internships

Thursday, June 29

Full Day at Internships

Friday, June 30

Full Day at Internships

Saturday, July 1 ­

Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

Sunday, July 2

Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

WEEK 5

Monday, July 3

9:15 a.m.-5:15 p.m. – All-day session

Instructors:  Sean Carlson, Joanna Hernandez and Miguel Paz

9:15 a.m. – News Quiz and News Discussion

10 a.m. – Intro to Audio Workshop

1 p.m. – Working Lunch (Pizza on Us): How to Be Your Own Copy Editor

2 p.m. – Data Visualization Part II : Deep Dive into Data: Finding Raw Data Set, Cleaning Data, Analyzing Data

5 p.m. – Day’s recap and debrief; look ahead at next week’s session

5:15 p.m. – Class Dismissed

Tuesday, July 4

 Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

Wednesday, July 5

Full Day at Internships

Thursday, July 6

Full Day at Internships

Friday, July 7

Full Day at Internships

Saturday, July 8 ­

Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

Sunday, July 9

Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

WEEK 6

Monday, July 10

9:15 a.m.-5:30 p.m. – All-day session

Instructors: Angel Franco, Jeff Jarvis and Lisa Armstrong

9:15 a.m. – News Quiz and News Discussion

10 a.m. – Photography Workshop with Angel Franco

Noon – Lunch On Your Own

1 p.m. – Jeff Jarvis on the Future of Journalism

3 p.m. – Writing Workshop

5 p.m. – Day’s recap and debrief; and a look at next week

5:30 p.m. – Class Dismissed

Tuesday, July 11

Full Day at Internships

Wednesday, July 12

Full Day at Internships

Thursday, July 13

Full Day at Internships

Friday, July 14

Full Day at Internships

Saturday, July 15 ­

Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

Sunday, July 17

Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

WEEK 7

Monday, July 17

9:15 a.m.-5 p.m. – All-day Career Services Workshop

Instructor: Yolanda Rodriguez

9:15 a.m. – News Quiz and News Discussion

10 a.m. – Job Description and Cover Letters

11 a.m. – Elevator Speech – write a short bio

Noon – Deliver Elevator Speech

1 p.m. – Pizza Lunch Break on Us

1:30 p.m. – Mock Interviews: Sharon Jautz, SANDOW Director of Talent Acquisition

4:30 p.m. – Day’s recap and debrief; and a look at next week

5 p.m. – Class Dismissed

Tuesday, July 18

Full Day at Internships

Wednesday, July 19

Full Day at Internships

Thursday, July 20

Full Day at Internships

Friday, July 21

Full Day at Internships

Saturday, July 22 ­

Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

Sunday, July 23

Off – Unless you’re supposed to be at your internship

WEEK 8

Monday, July 24

9:15 a.m.-5 p.m. – All-day Session

Instructors: Colleen Marshall, Mo Krochmal, Lisa Armstrong and Joanna Hernandez

9:15 a.m. – News Quiz and News Discussion

10 a.m. – CUNY J-School Admissions Process

10:30 a.m. – Navigating the Newsroom as a person of color

12:30 p.m. – End of the program buffet luncheon in honor of Knight CUNYJ fellows

2:30 p.m. – Formal presentation of each fellow’s 2-minute multiplatform story

4:30 p.m. – Day’s recap and debrief; look at rest of week and end of internships

5 p.m. – Class Dismissed

Tuesday, July 25

Full Day at Internships

Wednesday, July 26

Full Day at Internships

Thursday, July 27

Full Day at Internships

Friday, July 28

Last Day at Internships

Saturday, July 29 ­

9 a.m.-5 p.m. – Check Out of The Towers @ CCNY